About me part 2

20151206_152421

I’ve been residing in Johannesburg since the age of 6 months after my family and I moved from Kimberley. My love and passion for journalism comes from my father. He introduced me to the newsroom at a young age as he worked for the Mail & Guardian most of his career. Seeing the dynamics of the newsroom inspired me to read a lot as a child and to practice my ability to write.

As I grew older my interest in the lifestyle of a reporter heightened and because of my connection to the Mail & Guardian, I was lucky enough to get an internship for 2 weeks as it was mandatory for my journalism course that I enrolled for at Boston Media House. I have gained a lot of knowledge within those 2 weeks and fell in love with journalism all over again.

Journalism is my first priority. I love writing about varies topics and hopeful to break into the investigative journalism world.

I am a true believer in the finer things that life has to offer, therefore my work inspires me to create and bring about diversity in what I do and a passion to dig further into a story to find it’s backbone. I tackle topics that some are afraid to and that’s a quality of mine that most admire about me. My personality makes me who I am, and strengthens me to ask all the hard questions and photograph the difficult scenarios. I make sure that my stories are fit for newspaper and online target markets. Being part of this industry means that you have to be flexible and take on as much as you can to further develop yourself.

As a journalist, the industry that I am in is evolving. I had to learn more skills in order to evolve with the industry. In addition to being a journalist, I do photo journalism as well as writing content for my personal blog and brand.

Leave a Reply

